In Memoriam, Charles McPhee, April 24, 1962-May 8, 2011

Inspiration comes from unlikely places. Mine, for the past five years, has come from my cousin Charles who in June of 2006 learned he had ALS, also known as Lou Gehrig’s Disease. Gorgeous, funny, smart, kind, madly in love with his extraordinary wife Petra, and an ecstatic new father, he was also at the height of his career as The Dream Doctor. He was unlucky. He, however, never saw it that way. Relentlessly positive since birth, Charles approached the disease as an opportunity for exploration of the self and of the world from his new and rapidly altering perspective. His wife and elder daughter Celia joined him in this outlook and strategy. Aware of what he was facing, his choice of how to deal with it, how to be himself, was, for me, a wonder to behold, a source of inspiration as no other I have ever known. I will always be grateful to him for this, even if he perceived his gift as something entirely natural to the human spirit and therefore easy to give away.

From The New York Timeshttp://nyti.ms/lpmD8S

From The Los Angeles Times: http://t.co/LYVNQFp

Charles’ article about living with his disease in the Princeton Alumni Magazinehttp://bit.ly/kpt7Pp

www.dreamdoctor.com

“What Makes me Smile”: Martha McPhee writing about Charles: http://bit.ly/11F9Fz

Africa (for Barak Obama), A New Song From Charles: http://bit.ly/jWgREO

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “In Memoriam, Charles McPhee, April 24, 1962-May 8, 2011

  1. This is the most beautiful and inspiring piece you’ve written. Am printing it out to remind myself, and inspire, every day.
    I’m sorry for your loss Jenny.

    xx
    d

  2. Grant Crawford

    I think the Kennedys and Hemingways got all the limelight and you McPhee’s are the real accessible American treasures without the tax payer drama. What amazing depth and inclusive vulnerabilty. True love for fellow man, artist and humanity… All of you are full frontal exquisite. I adore your installments of insight and virtue.

    ox
    Grant

  3. Grant Crawford

    Amazing what Charles Mcphee will always hold in all your lives. This is “Always”. A word I share with only my most intimate friends and family. My Condolences on Charles passing.
    Warmest regards,
    Grant Crawford

  4. Richard Sullivan

    I met Charles in 1988 when he was living with “the band” and working at NIH. I would like to send you my recollections of him. He is quite possibly the reason why I am still alive today. Bless you and your family.

Leave a Reply

