Filmfatale reviews Make Way For Tomorrow

I’d never heard of it, but Leo McCarey had also directed one of my favorite films, The Awful Truth (made the same year, 1937), and I had been meaning to go for some time to one of The National Gallery’s Saturday afternoon screenings of classic films. Their flyer billed Make Way For Tomorrow as “one of the great unsung Hollywood masterpieces, an enormously moving Depression-era depiction of the frustrations of family, ageing, and the generation gap.” It sounded promising enough, though not a subject I would usually leap at. I had no idea what I was in for.

Click here to read review

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

