Dedication

 

 

 

 

Welcome to my world. Or at least a few of them.

Not long ago, I went to a yoga class for the first time. After a few oms, the teacher asked us to take a moment and dedicate that day’s practice to someone. I loved the idea so much I thought what else in my life could I dedicate? An evening meal to my mother? A bike ride to my father? A website to my sister?

Though Martha is younger, (two and a half years as she likes to specify), she has gone before me in many things, including her most fabulous website (www.marthamcphee.com). But she would not settle on just having her own. I had to have one too. She said, “Look at it as your own magazine, where you are publisher, editor, writer, critic, artist, designer (with much help from the magnificent Tim Farrer), a place where you can let your obsessions flourish.”

When Martha and I were seven and five years old in the late seventies, my mother joined NOW (The National Organization for Women) and was given a bumper sticker which she put on our army-green chevy. It said: “Sisterhood is Powerful.” It certainly is, especially if you happen to have a sister like Martha.

In the spirit of my yoga practice, I dedicate this website to Martha.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Dedication

  1. I am crying, just finding this at 11.45pm.

Leave a Reply

